top of page


Tiana Clark, 2020 Recipient 

    Tiana Clark is the author of Equilibrium (Bull City Press, 2016), which was selected to be the winner of the 2016 Frost Place Chapterbook Competition. Clark is also the author of I Can’t Talk About the Trees Without the Blood (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2018), which won the 2017 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize. She has appeared in The New Yorker, Poetry Magazine, Kenyon Review, New England Review, and Best New Poets 2015. Clark has also won a Pushcart Prize, the Rattle Poetry Prize, and the Furious Flower’s Gwendolyn Brooks Centennial Poetry Prize.

     Clark was brought up in both Nashville, Tennessee, and Southern California. She attended Tennessee State University where she received a BA in African and Women's Studies.


C. Dale Young, 2017

Terrance Hayes, 2015

Brooks Haxton, 2013

Kate Daniels, 2011

Maurice Manning, 2009

Kathryn Stripling Byer, 2007

Betty Adcock, 2005

R.H.W. Dillard, 2003

Rodney Jones, 2001

T.R. Hummer, 1999

Yusef Komunyakaa, 1997

Andrew Hudgins, 1995

Ellen Bryant Voigt, 1993

Robert Morgan, 1991

Kelly Cherry, 1989

bottom of page