Wiley Cash, 2020 Recipient 

  Wiley Cash is a New York Times Bestselling author for his debut novel A Land More Kind Than Home. His latest novel, The Last Ballad is the winner of the Southern Book Prize for Literary Fiction, named a best book of 2017 by the Chicago Public Library, and the American Library Association. He is the founder of the Open Canon Book Club and co-founder of the Land More Kind Appalachian Artists Residency. He is the Writer-in-Residence at the University of North Carolina-Ashville.


Rion Amilcar Scott, 2017

Jennine Capo Crucet, 2015

Holly Goddard Jones, 2013

George Singleton, 2011

Michelle Richmond, 2009

Denise Giardina, 2007

Robert Bausch, 2005

Mary Ward Brown, 2001

Percival Everett, 1999

Bobbie Ann Mason, 1999

Lewis Nordan, 1997

William Hoffman, 1995

Josephine Humphreys, 1993

Richard Bausch, 1991

Ellen Douglas, 1989